Under the Commonwealth Disability Services Act 1986, all Disability Employment Services, (DES) providers must maintain certification against the National Standards for Disability to receive funding from the Australian Government.

As of the 1st January 2014 these standards were updated and there are now six standards that  define the elements of quality service delivery to people with a disability. These new standards have a greater focus on person-centred approaches and promote choice and control by people with a disability, and are considered critical under the National Disability Insurance Scheme.

These standards are;

  • Rights
  • Participation
  • Individual Outcomes
  • Feedback & Complaints
  • Service Access
  • Service Management

For further explanation on each standard, please click on the link provided.